Quick Answer: Is income a protected class?

Source of income is not a protected class under the Federal Fair Housing Act (FHA). However, some states and local municipalities offer legal protections for housing voucher holders. … A person can be discriminated against based on source of income by a management company, real estate agent, landlord, or all three.

Is income level a protected class?

There are certain groups that are not treated as protected classes under anti-discrimination laws. These include: Level of educational attainment. Income level or socio-economic classes, such “middle class”

What are the 7 protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.

Can you discriminate based on income?

California law prohibits discrimination based on source of income. … Landlords, property managers, real estate brokers, home sellers, mortgage companies, and banks may not refuse to deal with you or treat you differently because your income includes sources other than wages.

IMPORTANT:  How do I benefit from it security?

Where is source of income a protected class?

Section 12955(p) defines “source of income” as “lawful, verifiable income paid directly to a tenant or paid to a representative of a tenant.” Since “source of income” is a protected class, it is illegal to dictate or selectively choose where the tenant’s income comes from for residential rental application approval.

Are poor classes protected?

The United States does not. Although the 14th Amendment broadly establishes “equality before the law,” the Supreme Court has repeatedly held that poverty is not a “suspect class” — meaning that class discrimination receives no special constitutional protection, unlike discrimination based on race, gender or religion.

What classes are not protected under federal law?

Under federal law, employers cannot discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability.

What are the 17 protected classes?

Protected Classes

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion (includes religious dress and grooming practices)
  • Sex/gender (includes pregnancy, childbirth, breastfeeding and/ or related medical conditions)
  • Gender identity, gender expression.
  • Sexual orientation.
  • Marital status.

What are 3 examples of discrimination?

Types of Discrimination

  • Age Discrimination.
  • Disability Discrimination.
  • Sexual Orientation.
  • Status as a Parent.
  • Religious Discrimination.
  • National Origin.
  • Pregnancy.
  • Sexual Harassment.

What are the 12 protected characteristics?

Protected characteristics

These are age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion or belief, sex, and sexual orientation.

What is discrimination based on income called?

The kind of housing discrimination Williams experienced is called “source of income discrimination” and refers to the practice of refusing to rent to a housing applicant because of that person’s lawful form of income.

IMPORTANT:  How does the 14th Amendment cover equal protection?

What are source of income protections?

State and local source of income laws or ordinance. s prohibit discrimination. (Source) against renters and homebuyers based on the source of their income. Such laws generally cover many potential sources of income including federal benefits like Social Security and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF).

What is compensation discrimination?

Compensation discrimination, another way of saying wage discrimination, means paying an employee less than coworkers who perform the same jobs. It is against the law for an employer to pay an employee less because of his or her gender, age, race, disability status, or religion.

Do landlords have to accept Section 8?

Your landlord has to give you a valid reason for giving you a section 8 notice. These reasons are known as ‘grounds for possession’. The court will have to accept your landlord’s grounds for possession before they decide whether you have to leave.

Is HUD the same as Section 8?

No, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is a federal government agency that oversees and manages many different housing programs, including Section 8. Additionally, Section 8 is an out of date name for the rental assistance program.

Can a landlord refuse to accept Section 8 in California?

A new California law prohibits landlords from refusing to rent to applicants just because they have a Section 8 voucher. … Landlords cannot post “No Section 8” or “No Vouchers” on their rental advertisements. Landlords cannot inquire to see if you have Section 8 before giving you an application.